

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 2017

Contact: Abigail Christian 312.606.0722 or achristian@archivists.org

Philip C. Bantin Receives Waldo Gifford Leland Award from Society of American Archivists

CHICAGO—Philip C. Bantin, director of the archives and records management specialization at Indiana University, Bloomington, is the 2017 recipient of the Waldo Gifford Leland Award given by the Society of American Archivists (SAA) for his book, *Building Trustworthy Digital Repositories: Theory and Implementation*, published by Rowman and Littlefield in 2016. The award will be presented at a ceremony during the SAA Annual Meeting in Portland, Oregon, July 23–29. The award is given for writing of superior excellence and usefulness in the fields of archival history, theory, and practice.

In *Building Trustworthy Digital Repositories*, Bantin offers a comprehensive look at the state of long-term preservation of and access to digital records. With contributions from 41 international archivists, educators, and practitioners, Bantin introduces theoretical concepts followed by examples of implementation and practical guidance for application for all phases of the digital preservation lifecycle. This publication, pertinent to the entire profession, meets the needs of different archivists—from established archives practitioners and educators to students and new professionals.

The Award Committee noted: "Pulling together many different contributors into a cohesive volume is no easy task, but Bantin manages to accomplish just that to produce a work that is very relevant to the challenges all archivists face today with the massive amounts of digital records that are part of repositories both large and small."

Established in 1959, the Waldo Gifford Leland Award is named for one of North America's archival pioneers and SAA's second president. Past recipients include Sonja Luehrmann for *Religion in Secular Archives: Soviet Atheism and Historical Knowledge;* Michelle Caswell for *Archiving the Unspeakable: Silence, Memory, and the Photographic Record in Cambodia;* Ellen Gruber Garvey for *Writing with Scissors: American Scrapbooks from the Civil War to the Harlem Renaissance; and* Astrid Eckhart for *The Struggle for the Files: The Western Allies and the Return of German Archives after the Second World War*.

-30-

Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national archives professional association. SAA's mission is to serve the educational and informational needs of 6,200 individual and institutional members and to provide leadership to ensure the identification, preservation, and use of records of historical value. For more information, visit www.archivists.org.